Almost everyone of us makes use of one Google product or service at least once a day, whether it is their search website, checking emails on your Gmail account or simply chatting on Google Hangouts. In one way or another Google is part of our lives and even probably knows us better than even our closest friends, if our incognito search histories are anything to go by. But what if you forget or don’t know how to use the incognito feature and what about other types of data collected using Google Maps, YouTube among other apps related to Google? How can you ensure no one ever lays their eyes on your search history and data and your privacy is maintained?

Is it a good idea to delete your Google search history and data?

It is in a way comforting that Google have been quite open about the type of user data they store up and the fact that you are given an option to delete if you wish to. However, what you don’t know is that even though clearing your Google history may give you peace of mind, it will also negatively affect your online experience. That is because the data collected by Google, helps the search giant provide content that is relevant to you, more conveniently.

All those accurate search recommendations that appear whenever you type in something you want to look up, that Google Now weather notification you get every morning and Google Maps’ efficient source of navigation from your home to work, is all thanks to all the history and data stored by Google.

DID YOU KNOW? Updato offers seamless and guaranteed phone unlocking for any device, carrier and region! It's quick and easy - try it now.

Basically Google-based services work together to ensure that your get the most out every experience, as seamlessly and conveniently as possible. So the choice to keep all your Google history and data or having it cleared, is simply choosing between convenience and privacy.

Checking your Google data

Yes, there is a way you can check out what Google has on you. First make sure that you are signed into your Google account, then head into your Google web browser’s history page. From there you will be able to view all your information, you’ll discover that Google actually more things than you care to pay attention to. There are a number of sections available on the page, including Web & App History, Voice & Audio Activity, Device Information, Location History, YouTube Watch History, and YouTube Search History.

How to have your Google history disabled

After reading the first part of this article, you are probably looking for an in-between that will ensure that you keep both your convenience and privacy intact. Well, there is a way and that is having your Google history disabled. The benefit of this is that your Google history remains inactive thus ensuring your privacy. On the other hand, you still have the option of enabling it and get back to enjoying the convenience of Google services. You can disable your Google history by do the following:

  1. From any browser, navigate to your Google history page.
  2. From the data sections that are displayed, tap on the one that you want to disable (Web & App History).
  3. Click the 3-dots menu icon placed at the top-right corner of the screen.
  4. Go to Settings.
  5. Right beside Your searches and browsing activity, you’ll notice it a switch, toggle it to Off.
  6. Once you click on it, a message will appear warning you about what the action may cause.
  7. Click on Pause, if you choose to continue with the process of disabling.
  8. Repeat the same procedure for any other history section you want to disable. Alternatively, you can select the SHOW MORE CONTROLS option on any of the Settings pages, and toggle them all to Off.

How to delete your Google history

  1. If you sure you want to go through with permanently clearing all your Google data and history, then you can proceed with the following steps:
  2. From any browser, navigate to your Google history page.
  3. From the data sections that are displayed, tap on the one that you want to disable (Web & App History).
  4. Click the 3-dots menu icon placed at the top-right corner of the screen.
  5. Go to Delete options.
  6. You can select the data you want deleted either from today or yesterday. If you want to delete data beyond the previous day, then select Advanced, where you will be able to clear up to 4 weeks of activity. However if you want clear away any or all traces of data, you can select All time.
  7. Confirm your selection and then tap on Delete.
  8. Repeat the same procedure for any other history sections you want cleared.

And you are done. Now you can start all over and your privacy is once again yours.

 

 

TAGS:

View Comments


unlock your phone

Easily and safely unlock your phone for any network provider in just minutes.

Get Started

LATEST FROM YOUTUBE:

What's my model number?

There are several ways to locate your model number:

Option 1
On your device, go to Settings, then "About device" and scroll down to "Model number"
Option 2
Often times you can view the model number inside the device, by removing the battery
Option 3
Using Samsung's model/serial number location tool

Looks like you're using an ad blocker.

We get it: ads aren't what you're here for...

But ad revenue is our only way to manage this site. Without ad revenue we won't be able to continue to provide quality content and free firmware downloads.

Please disable your ad blocker or whitelist Updato.com in order to continue into Updato's ad-light experience.

Thanks for your support!